NHOA Glaucoma Information
New Hampshire law specifies two levels of permission for optometrists to treat glaucoma. The difference is the degree of independence they have in treating POAG.
The lower level of permission is granted to ODs who are TPA certified but not TPA/g certified, and the higher level of permission is granted to those who are TPA/g certified.
Almost every OD in NH is TPA certified. No one can obtain a New Hampshire license below the TPA level.
There are several pathways to becoming TPA/g certified:
—-Anyone who graduated from optometry school after 2002 is automatically TPA/g certified when they are licensed;
—-Anyone who practiced (and had glaucoma privileges) in the Federal Service (military, USPHS or VA) for at least 12 months before applying for a NH license will be automatically TPA/g certified when they are licensed;
—-Anyone coming from another state where they practiced and treated glaucoma for at least 12 months is eligible to apply for TPA/g certification from the Joint Pharmaceutical Formulary and Credentialing Committee (JPFCC);
—-Anyone who has completed a glaucoma-relevant residency is eligible to apply for TPA/g certification from the JPFCC;
—-Anyone who completes the required number of co-management cases in conjunction with a NH-licensed ophthalmologist is eligible to apply for TPA/g certification from the JPFCC.
Once you are TPA/g certified, ten of your required 50 hours of CE per year must be on glaucoma-related topics and 7 of those 10 must be Category 1. Essentially this means that at least 7 of your Category 1 CE hours must carry a COPE ” -GL” suffix on their course numbers.